Oh Annie.

“I’m over it.”
“You’re over it?”
“Yeah,” she pauses and I listen. As agonizing as it is. “My feelings aren’t normally this fleeting. It’s a little strange to me too.”

She must have forgotten about the last ten times we’ve gone through this. They must have just slipped her mind. I’ve been the ‘it’ myself before,she must have forgotten that as well. If only I could be so fortunate. As she slips hair behind her ear I catch some stupid new tattoo on the side of her neck, right behind her lobe. Some stupid symbol with a triangle. If I spent more time on the internet maybe I’d get it. But I don’t. I don’t get it and for the first time in eighteen years, I don’t get Annie. I don’t even try to get her. The act itself just seems like a waste of energy.

“How do you know?”
“I’m not sure.”
“Then how do you know for sure that those feelings are gone?”
“Because.”
“That isn’t an answer nor a reason.”
“I don’t suppose you’d accept the fact that I can just tell.”

Annie doesn’t realize it but I don’t just accept most things she tries to pass off verbally as conversation.

“Could we change the subject?”
“Absolutely.”

Leave a Reply

