Route Three.

All along the highway the traffic is backed up
The shining headlights two strands of pearls
Falling against her blackest black satin dress
The stars reduced to nothing more than dust
Less dazzling than these man made beauties
She moves fluidly, swaying with the breeze
And I’m one with thee, forever Route Three

The metal, the wheels they all say if you try
You can feel her breathe so soft, comfortably
And I’m left wondering as the car reaches seventy
What truly separates the oceans and streets
The mountains and trees, rocks vs leaves
We’re all just here to exist, to exist, to
Exist and exist and exist
And just be.

All along the highway the traffic is backed up
So instead of living in the moment like I’m told
I’ll live in the tar, in the asphalt, in the paint of
A friend that figured me out in four years flat
I don’t know her, but she always knows me
My tears, my laughter, and my silent plea’s
My sturdy, my reliable, forever Route Three

I’ll die on this highway, I’ll die on this highway
I’ll die on this highway, I’ll die just like him
I’ll die on this highway, I’ll die on this highway
I’ll die in this car on this highway in this state
I’ll never have to get to know anyone again

She’s always looking out for my best interest
My beautiful, my powerfully sad Route Three

Leave a Reply

