Summering Sickness

My skin stuck, slick and sad
To heavy sheets, patterned plaid
Cotton static and layered humidity
Eighty five degrees launched into infinity
All I want to do is sleep.
All I want to do is sleep.

Cloudy eyes, brimmed with something
Red with a familiar, obnoxious sting
Staring at the pitch black ceiling
My body’s reacting but without feeling
All I want to do is sleep.
All I want to do is sleep.

Eventually falling tears do cease
Relaxing, my nerves finally pleased
I exhale heavily just because
And feel myself slipping into sand mans claws
I’m ready to fall asleep.
I’m ready to fall asleep.

I count my ribs and close my eyes
Testing my commitment, pressing on bruised thighs
No reaction, no feeling
So close to finally dreaming
I might actually be
Falling asleep.

Leave a Reply

