You Can Hold it Against Me

I tried to write a poem for you
But every word was found heavy
In my mouth when I reread
Every stanza a disgrace
Scratched into paper
What a waste of
The poor limited ink
In my favorite pen

I tried to write a poem for you
But it was forced and a fraud
Exhausted and distraught
I gave up and
Just crawled back to my bed
Let the snow fall outside
And gather at my window
Careless in my current state

I tried to write a poem for you
After all you taught me
To feel and express and run
It seemed appropriate
Until I tasted those words
On my dry, cigarette smoke
Assaulted tongue so
I kindly spat them out

I tried to write a poem for you
But all I have is what you’re reading 
And this semi permanent scowl
I can’t write a poem for you
And now that I’ve got this far
I’m sorry that I tried
Maybe you’ll forgive me
If i give you enough time

2 thoughts on “You Can Hold it Against Me

  1. I truly love this poem. Such talent. I love the way that the whole poem was a paradox, very unique. Could you please check out the poems I’ve written on my blog? I’m a rather young newbie and I’d appreciate your time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

