The Mostly Brown Oak

I saw him as a tree
Strong, bold, and sweet
Confident and easy to believe
I took his hand to be free

We danced in the dark forest
Singing until my tired voice was hoarse
His arms enveloped me with branches so coarse
My heavy thoughts drifted like ships leaving port

Come morning I was shaking leaves
I felt new, just learning to breathe
My body buzzing like the slowly waking bees
Alone, I heard his song on the breeze

I’m still unsure why he chose me
That brilliantly charming, sturdy oak tree
But I’ve never in my life felt so deeply
And now I know for sure I’ve always been free

Leave a Reply

